Wanderlust

It’s been a very long time since I’ve bothered updating this blog. I’ve thought about it on countless occasions and have a plethora of things that I’d love to break down but…those things can wait…

In the past year my life has changed drastically for the better. I threw out most of my stuff, quit my job at an engineering firm, packed the rest of it into a car then moved 16 hours North to a tiny place that most people in the big cities down south don’t even know exist. This may seem sudden for some of those watching but I had my reasons and they were plenty.

Once here I know this is what the missing piece in my life had been. I had gone through life down South almost dreading every day. There was some good memories but as a whole the bad outweighed the good and I had enough. Will I ever return to my hometown? No, I have sworn off that place for good and have zero iota of regret.

Even though I came up here with no job and only enough cash for a few months it didn’t stay like that for long. My set of skills is highly transferable and I realized that as soon as I applied to my first job. Within two weeks I was hired at that firm and sent off to an infrastructure project worth in the hundreds of millions of dollars.

The skills I learned there will help me in my future career ambitions. I learned immense amounts from a senior party chief with tens of years experience in the bush and some tricks to help things along that are quite out of the box on the surface. I also learned office skills from a senior CAD technician that has cemented my resolve around drafting both 2D and 3D modeling. I went from being fairly green in drafting to going on and presenting massive 3D topographic plans that will be forever cemented in the project as signed and completed by me.

My last day with that firm was this week and I was sad to go but bigger things are ahead. In the coming month I will be going back to school even further North to finish my civil engineering degree.  I have the experience now I’m getting the papers.

Until next time,

JSTRD

One thought on “Wanderlust

Leave a Reply

